Skier Cross Olympian Alpine Canada

India Sherret

Tell us about you! Why and how did you get into your sport?
My name is India Sherret, I grew up in Cranbrook, BC and now split my time between home and Calgary. I started downhill skiing when I was 9 years old, I was a bit of a late start. A coach of mine encouraged me to try out a ski cross race when I was 13. I immediately fell in love and thought it was the best sport ever. A mix of jumps and rolls all while racing with my friends. That love I found as a kid has carried me to where I am today.

What's a fun fact about you?
I love any outdoor activities that involve the mountains. Mountain biking, trail running, ski touring, and climbing are all a big part of my training routine. In my downtime I love to create art. I work with both watercolour and oil paint to capture the feelings of my favourite mountain landscapes.

What are your goals and aspirations?
In sport, I want to be the best athlete that I can be. I am working on building the consistency in my skiing to be within reach of the podium at every race. I look forward to being able to perform to my maximum potential at big events like World Championships and the Olympics. Outside of sport I am a primary care paramedic and one day hope to work in critical care or search and rescue.

What has been your biggest challenge throughout your career? How did you overcome it?
In my earlier career I struggled a lot with my mental health including depression and an eating disorder. I eventually realized that I needed to take a step away from sport and prioritize myself as a person to get better. I worked hard to develop the skills I needed so that I could live a fulfilling life in and out of sport. I am very grateful for that experience because it helped shape me into the person that I am today.

Injury is a part of life and sport - how did you deal with yours?
I tore my right ACL in October of 2020 and had surgery early November. I'm lucky to have an amazing rehab team that keeps me moving forward as soon as I'm ready but never before. Being away from sport is tough but I've been using the time to pursue other hobbies and work on other areas of my life that I don't often have time to.

What gets you the most excited about Stoko?
I'm most excited about the K1 because it works with my body instead of restricting it like a traditional knee brace would. I'm a super mobile person and I use most, if not all of my range of motion, while racing. Knowing that I have the same support while being able to move like I naturally do is amazing.

Do you have any pre-competition rituals?
Left sided things always go on first. Left sock, boot, ski, anything else just feels wrong.

Favourite snack before/after a sweat session?
I love smoothie bowls with lots of greens, fruit, and yogurt.

Instagram Facebook

Career Highlights:
• 2018 Olympic Winter Games
• 2017 - 11th FIS World Championships
• 2015 - 1st FIS World Junior Championships

Our Ambassador Program

Think you have what it takes to become a Stoko Ambassador? We’d love to hear from you.

Get In Touch